Eritrea Cycling Championship Commences

Ministry of Information, Eritrea
Download logo

Eritrea Road Cycling Championship 2022 commences today, 24 June, at the Asmara Martyrs Cemetery area with an individual time trial.

In the junior men category that covered 18 km, Aklilu Arefaine, Samuel Haile, and Yoel Habteab stood first, second and third respectively.

Arsema Woldemicael also won the junior females’ category that covered 9 km, while Niat Teklehaimanot from Denden Club and Fithawit Teklu from Arag Club finished second and third.

In the female elite and under 23 categories that covered 18 km, Danait Fitsum and Adiam Dawit from Denden Club won the Gold and Silver medals respectively while Milena Yafet the Bronze medal.

The men’s elite and U-23 category that covered 36 km was highly expected by the cycling fans. Accordingly, the Eritrean Profession cyclist, Biniam Ghirmay finished the race in 43 minutes, 36 seconds, and 76 micro-second and become the fastest Eritrean rider of 2022.

Merhawi Kudus finished the race 15 seconds behind Biniam and Amanuel Gebrezgiabher finished 27 seconds behind Biniam to stand third.

Distributed by APO Group on behalf of Ministry of Information, Eritrea.

This Press Release has been issued by APO. The content is not monitored by the editorial team of African Business and not of the content has been checked or validated by our editorial teams, proof readers or fact checkers. The issuer is solely responsible for the content of this announcement.