India, Japan, Netherlands and Sri Lanka new Permanent Representatives present Credentials to AU Commission Chairperson

Newly appointed Ambassadors of India, Japan, Netherlands and Sri Lanka to the Federal Democratic Republic of Ethiopia and Permanent Representatives to the African Union (AU) and the United Nations Economic Commission for Africa (UNECA), have presented their Credentials to the AU Commission Chairperson, H.E. Dr. Nkosazana Dlamini Zuma, on Tuesday, 13 December 2016.IndiaThe newly appointed Ambassador of India to Ethiopia and Permanent Representative to the African Union, is H.E. Mr. Anurag Srivastava.  Presenting his credentials to the Chairperson of the AU Commission, he reflected on how India’s formal relationship with the AU had begun in 2005. Having a more structured relationship has witnessed significant progress made in capacity building, with India offering about 50,000 scholarships to Africa.Apart from strengthening cooperation with India, particularly in providing training and skills to young people in Africa, other areas of cooperation between Africa and India include the Pan-African E-network and Renewable Energy.JapanThe new Ambassador Extraordinary and Plenipotentiary of Japan to Ethiopia and Permanent Representative to the AU and UNECA, is H.E. Mr. Shinichi SAIDA. Presenting his Credentials, he delivered a message of gratitude from the Japanese Government to the Chairperson for successfully hosting TICAD VI, which took place in Africa, for the first time, and was smoothly hosted in Nairobi, Kenya. The AU and Japan will work toward implementing TICAD VI Decisions, as a means to strengthening the relationship between the two sides.NetherlandsThe new Ambassador Extraordinary and Plenipotentiary of Netherlands to Ethiopia and Permanent Representative to the AU and UNECA is H.E. Mr. Bengt van Loosdrecht. He lauded the AU’s significant transformation into a more independent and more assertive organisation. Amb. Bengt van Loosdrecht commended Dr Dlamini Zuma on her career and said she made a mark wherever she worked.The new Representative of Netherlands said he will be taking over from Sweden as co-Chair of the AU Partners Group, in order to learn more about the AU. He noted that Netherlands was viewed as a country with no hidden agenda as they have altruistic intentions in working with the Commission.Sri LankaSri Lanka’s new Ambassador to Ethiopia and Permanent Representative to the AU and UNECA is, H.E. Mr. Dassanayake Mudiyanselage Sumith Priyantha. Presenting his Credentials, he announced that Sri Lanka will officially open a new Embassy in January 2017, extending an invitation to the AU Commission Chairperson. Opening an Embassy in Addis Ababa, was very strategic as Sri Lanka strengthens its presence in Africa.The Chairperson congratulated and welcomed each of the new Representatives to the AU and wished them success in their collaboration with the AU and during their stay in Ethiopia. Distributed by APO on behalf of African Union Commission (AUC).Media filesDownload logo