DIRCO to launch the 2017 Annual Ubuntu Awards

The Department of International Relations and Cooperation (DIRCO) will launch the 2017 annual Ubuntu Awards on Wednesday, 09 November 2016 in Pretoria where media will be briefed on this prestigious annual event and the procedures for nominations in the Awards’ six categories namely: Ubuntu Economic Diplomacy Award  Ubuntu Social Responsibility Award  Ubuntu Cultural Diplomacy Award  Ubuntu Youth Diplomacy Award  Ubuntu Sports, Arts and Culture Diplomacy Award  O. R Tambo Lifetime Achievement Award A media pack will be provided at the launch which contains information on:Each award Eligibility The nomination and judging processIn 2015, the annual Ubuntu Awards were launched to celebrate South African citizens who play an active role in projecting a positive image of South Africa internationally. Through excellence in their chosen fields, these proud South Africans serve as global ambassadors of our nation.Next year’s Ubuntu Awards will be hosted by the Minister of International Relations and Cooperation, Ms Maite Nkoana-Mashabane and is expected to take place in February 2017 in Cape Town. The event will take place after the opening of Parliament and will bring together captains of industry, leaders from civil society, members of Cabinet and eminent persons in addition to all Ambassadors and High Commissioners accredited to South Africa.The awards are aimed at recognizing and honouring South African industry leaders, organizations and extraordinary citizens for their distinguished service and contribution to promoting South Africa’s national interests and values throughout the world. Each award will be given to an organization and/ or an individual, who through excellence, innovation, creativity, social responsibility and patriotism, distinguished themselves as exceptional ambassadors of South Africa. The year 2017 marks the centenary of Oliver Tambo’s life. Therefore, the theme of the Ubuntu Awards will be: “In his footsteps.” The Ubuntu Awards thus recognise South African citizens who embody the principles of OR Tambo, namely: Integrity, Passion, Patriotism and Humility.Previous award winners include South African companies MTN and Nandos, top Olympic athletes Wayne van Niekerk and Chad le Clos (Ubuntu Sports Diplomacy Award), DJ Black Coffee and HughMasekela (Ubuntu Cultural Diplomacy Award), the former South African Chief of State Protocol, Ambassador Billy Modise and the late South African liberation struggle stalwart and diplomat, Mme Ruth Mompati (OR Tambo Lifetime Achievement Award) to mention but a few. Media are invited as follows:Date: Tomorrow, Wednesday, 09 November 2016Time: 11h00Venue: Department of International Relations and Cooperation, Diplomatic Guesthouse, 460 Soutpansberg Road, Rietondale, Pretoria, 0084RSVP: Laoura Lazouras, [email protected]/ 083 564 2024Enquiries: Ms Salome Baloi, 083 778 7182 Distributed by APO on behalf of Republic of South Africa: Department of International Relations and Cooperation.Media filesDownload logo